Writing Me: Where I’m From {Stephanie}

I am from crayons left melting in the sun,
from Kool-Aid and tying a sheet to the box fan in the hallway.
I am from the scratchy Powder Puff Big Wheel tires on the pavement,
I am from Juniper Street, metal swing set in the backyard
from the big oak tree in the front
(so wide my brother used to pee on it and no one saw.)
I’m from Irish lullabies and stumpy cankle legs,
from Wilsons and Maynards and Hoovers and Riddles.
I’m from the grudge-holders
and the people pleasers
from the guess what? chicken butt and home again home again jiggity jig.
I’m from I’ve got the joy joy joy joy down in my heart
where!?
and baptism and believing and falling and receiving.
I’m from zucchini in a southern patch,
General Mills cereal with prizes inside.
From the family trip to the Rocky Mountains and I touched a cloud.
The time my grandmother called me thunder thighs (never forgot)
in sticky spiral album pages were birthday parties and family reunions
Polaroids with black marker “Stephie age 1”
my Raggedy Ann wallpaper
crying when I turned twelve because I didn’t want to ever turn thirteen
the canopy bed.
I am from that little girl, never knew she’d be big so fast
she had no clue and
I am glad.

Stephanie Precourt journals her daily life with four kids at her blog, Adventures In Babywearing, and also writes parenting news at Strollerderby and NWIparent Magazine. This past spring she directed and produced a Listen To Your Mother show, featuring live readings about motherhood.

 

Writing Me is a community writing project. We’d love to have you join us. 

7 responses to “Writing Me: Where I’m From {Stephanie}

  1. Love it! Love the glow and happiness and wonder pulsing from the words. Love the line “and I touched a cloud.”

  2. Beautiful! I know I said that before, but it is! We’re so glad to have you today, Steph!

  3. Love it!! Thank you for sharing.

  4. Breath taking and sweet all at the same time. I just adored where you are from.

    Alita

  5. Oh I love this! I did it for my very first blog entry. In fact – I think you may have been my very first commenter. Yours is just Lovely. I love “Guess what? Chicken butt!” I remember getting great joy from saying that. Your ending is fabulous. It brings it all right back together.

  6. Pingback: Around the Web with BPB | Bigger Picture Blogs

Leave a comment