Daily Archives: September 23, 2011

BPReads: Wild Mind Chapter 4

BiggerPictureBlogsBookClub

We’re reading to become better writers, I hope you’ll join us on this journey! Details on the book club can be found under the Book Club Tab above. I will link each week’s discussion there as well.

Our first pick is Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg. If you want more information on Natalie and some video interviews with her please visit Open Road Media. Some of you asked, it is available in all versions of digital reader. See the Open Road Media site for details.

Chapter 4: Structure

Structure.

How often have you not published something, or edited, and re-edited, and re-edited a piece to fit in what you thought was the correct structure? I loved that Natalie is giving us permission to stop that. “each time we write we reinvent the structure to fit ourselves”.

I like this a lot because I don’t know how to write, technically. I didn’t take writing classes aside from the requirements to graduate. I write from the heart gut and the structure is not always right. Particularly in what I like to call possibly poetry.  I have very little idea how to write poetry, but sometimes what’s comes out is poetry to me. Natalie tells me that is okay, perfect even!

We need to tell our own story, our own way. It’s like Art. I am constantly telling my son (and husband!) that you can’t tell someone what they think is beautiful, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. So apparently the story is in the hand of the writer!

Her try this was to take a sentence and build form t one sentence at a time. Take a sentence from an old blog post…I bet you think of one right away, I did. Take that one sentence and build off of it, one sentence at a time. See where it takes you without planning out the story ahead of time.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…