Daily Archives: September 1, 2011

BPB Reads: Wild Mind Chapter 1

We’re reading to become better writers, I hope you’ll join us on this journey! Details on the book club can be found under the Book Club Tab above. I will link each week’s discussion there as well.

Our first pick is Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg. If you want more information on Natalie and some video interviews with her please visit Open Road Media. Some of you asked, it is available in all versions of digital reader. See the Open Road Media site for details.

Chapter 1:

Writing

Photo Credit Gregory Wake

Write hard and clear about what hurts

~ Hemingway

I loved that quote, possibly because that’s a lot of what I write about and how I write-through things. Writing is therapy for me it allows me to process some really hard and trying times.

Chapter one was about writing practice why you need and should do one and establishing one. So do you have one? Do you practice? I don’t mean writing daily blog posts I mean pushing yourself to try new things or writing just to write?

I’ll admit I don’t as much as I would like too. I write in my head a lot but on paper )or a computer) not enough. I am committed to trying though!

One way I work in writing practice to my busy (oh so busy!) life with many small people is to do some dedicated writing prompts and free writes. Since I still have a nighttime nurser I am gravitating to free writes these days because my brain doesn’t have to focus on structure and story but just getting thoughts on paper (er screen).

Some writing memes:

The Gypsy Mama 5 Minute Friday. One word prompt and free writing for 5minutes. Simple practice. I have been loving this one lately.

All.Things.Fadra Stream of Conscious Sunday  Similar concept to 5 minute Friday only no prompt. Just writing for five minutes whatever comes to your mind however random and disjointed it is just write.

Write on the Edge (formerly the Red Dress Club) offers two prompts a week to stretch your writing muscles. The Red Writing Hood   a prompt is given and you choose what to write, fiction or non fiction, 600 word limit. RemembeRED is a memoir writing prompt.

Mama’s Losin’ It Offers several prompts for a weekly link up. Writing can be anything fiction, poetry, memoirs, anything goes.

So I want to know:

  • Do you have a writing practice?
  • What is it?
  • Do you do it regularly and ow do you motivate yourself?

This week I want you to write, just write and share it with us. If you participate in one of the above writing practices (or others) you can share those .

If you don’t participate in one of those or have your own practice, or if you just want to do something for fun. Set a timer for five minutes and just write. Write your thoughts on the quote above from Hemingway if you need a prompt, just write and see where it takes you.

The linky will stay open for a week. We will have a button coming soon in the meantime link back to this post. Read at least one other persons post because all writers want to be read.

Do you have any additional thoughts on the first chapter?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Bigger Picture Moments, Sarah’s Rewarding Love

Simple BPM

We have a new plan at Heavenly House for encouraging good behavior.

I KNOW it’s hard to believe, but we do struggle with such boring tasks as doing something the first time mom or dad asks.  We have an even harder time remembering that the tone of voice we use is as important as the words we say.  So, in the line of positive reinforcement when a little girl’s behavior manages to catch up to such lofty expectations as politeness and generosity andthoughtfulness, we have a plan.

Something that’s simpler than a sticker chart and easier to follow through with.  Something that has a pleasing sound attached to it:

To read the rest and to add your own Moment please head over to This Heavenly Life, we’d love to have you!

Live. Capture. Share. Encourage.