The Workout: Creative Inspiration

The alarm sounds, playing some garbled pop hit that I quickly silence so as not to wake the rest of the house.  I fumble for my glasses and grab my cell phone, making my way through the dark house.

It’s time to work.

Stretching I shake the morning grogginess from my brain.

Quickly I begin working, using muscles I never knew I had, pushing through challenges and barriers. Feeling like I might hit a wall, thinking I’ll never make it, but I do. My breath is heavy and I take a sip from my beverage, feeling driven and ready to tackle anything that comes my way.

It’s a quick workout. Only a half hour before the sun starts shining and I begin to hear the pitter patter of tiny feet in the kitchen.

Wiping the sweat from my brow I assess my work.

And while one might think I’ve just run multiple miles, physically my body remained planted, snuggled in the couch with a laptop glowing with prose.

This morning’s workout was more about finding the right words. Busting through the walls of writer’s block and the search for the perfect word. I stretched my writing muscles to their breaking point and back again.

The sweat on my brow is real, and there are many times that running those three miles might be easier than writing for those 30 minutes.

But I persevere, because I love writing just as much as I love running.

And the same rules apply no matter whether my feet hit the pavement or when my fingers click the keys.

I will never give up.

I will stay focused on my goal.

I will always give 100%.

With my first workout of the day completed I’m off to run those three miles.

Are you ready for you workout today?

Head over to our Facebook page for today’s prompt.

All it takes is five minutes.

You can …

Write a post

Take a photo

Compose a poem

Sketch a masterpiece

And don’t worry you won’t have to run three miles.

Leave a Reply

