Healing: Guest Post by Michelle Pendergrass

Did you know we are taking our blog to another level — a level where we’re looking at each other face to face while sharing a cup of tea or coffee and good conversation.

This fall, Bigger Picture Blogs, in cooperation with Visual Prayer artist Michelle Pendergrass, is hosting Creative Soul our first in-person retreat!

In preparation for this wonderful event we thought it would be nice to introduce Michelle, so you can find out what inspires her and fills her creative soul.

Click here to get The Skinny on Creative Soul 

_________________

It can be turned off, this thing called creativity.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.”

In hindsight, I sometimes feel as if living with my creativity turned off was one of the valleys spoken of in Psalm 23. Maybe it was a time, like David’s, of hiding in caves, being pursued relentlessly by an enemy (who often seemed like a friend.) I guess I don’t really know why I chose to shut it off for so long. My spirit was broken from so many things.

And then God, in His infinite mystery, chose brokenness again as a way to bring light to my darkened soul. The dormant creativity was sparked by a desire to pray more authentically. Surrounded by believers, I should have felt some sort of camaraderie, but in the crowd, I was alone. My heart longed for a way communicate, my soul ached for communion and community. I begged God to place in my life a spiritual mentor, a woman I could share my heart with and His reply shocked me, “Am I not enough?”

I thought I’d known brokenness before that question.

Another new one! #sketch #watercolor  #scripture

He showed me a new (to me) way of praying. With pens and markers and eventually pages torn from His holy word. Pages of His story ripped and torn, just like Him, just like me. Broken but made whole. It started one year (exactly) before my mom died unexpectedly. I think that’s what grace looks like. His knowing and in His knowing, His mercy, His preparation, His protection.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. All things were created through Him, and apart from Him not one thing was created that has been created. Life was in Him, and that life was the light of men. That light shines in the darkness, yet the darkness did not overcome.

Healing was given by way of creativity. When I had no words, He was my word. Colors and shapes and objects gave meaning to my pain. And He didn’t yell at me or berate me or shame me. He watched over my shoulder. Whispered inspiration into my tender heart and stepped back.

When I realized what I’d created, I shared and when I shared, I watched in utter amazement how these creations spoke to the souls of others in the throes of grief.

As they spoke, He spoke. to me. to others. to our hearts, our spirits. He said to me, ““Michelle, Michelle look out! Satan has asked to sift you like wheat.But I have prayed for you that your faith may not fail. And you, when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

As I glue the torn pieces of my prayer, He heals my broken heart and binds up my wounds. I enter into His healing and I abide in Him, gathering life and strength I didn’t know existed.

As I followed him through the darkest valleys, as I learned that indeed, He is enough…everything…the only thing

the darkness fell away

now, with afterglow like Moses–I caught a glimpse of His splendor and I’ll never be the same.

____________________

Now it’s your turn to be inspired by  Registering for Creative Soul!

{Don’t forget to pop over to our Facebook page today for our normal Monday creative inspiration with BP Creates!}

2 responses to “Healing: Guest Post by Michelle Pendergrass

  1. It is healing. And the community that comes with it – what you’re helping to create in your work, and bringing it to pair with Bigger Picture Blogs, will heal so many 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed reading this Michelle. You are such a good writer, and this was so interesting and made me think how I can shine my light better and use those things that have been lying dormant in me to show God’s light as well.

Leave a Reply

