We All Love a Good Story

A cup of coffee in one hand and the latest bestseller in the other, I make my way to my favorite chair. It squeaks under my weight and I sink deep into its cushions. Wrapping my body with a worn-in blanket, I settle in to read. All I can hear is the sound of my own voice reading the words and with each one the world around me falls away and I’m gone. Off to another place, one filled with dragons, romance, mysteries and foreign lands.

I love to read. It’s my gateway to freedom from life; from the screaming kids, the piles of laundry and the chaotic workday. Unfortunately due to all of the above I barely find time to crack the cover of my favorite novel.

Instead I spend many nights reading the latest children’s stories over and over and over…

Even after the hundreth reading of “Little Blue Truck” and “How Do Dinosaurs go to Bed?” the boys sit, eyes wide waiting with anticipation for what might come next.

However, for me I’m still looking for the next adventure, and I will make up any excuse to visit our local bookstore.

This past week I found an unexpected bit of inspiration in the Children’s section.

From the moment I picked up the lone copy of The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, I was smitten. The storybook, which was inspiration for the Academy Award winning short by the same name, documents Mr. Lessmore’s journey as he loses his words, finds others and by sharing them is able to finally finish his own story.  Its message is clear…

“EVERYONE’S STORY MATTERS.”

One poignant sentence which reinforced my reason for blogging, for writing, for just sharing a funny story with a friend.

Because as my comfy chair can testify, I just love a good story whether it’s mine or yours.

Are you ready for a good story?

Head over to our Facebook page for today’s creative inspiration.

Remember all it takes is five minutes.

You can …

Take a photo
Write a poem
Write a post
Write two sentences
Paint a picture

Don’t forget to share your creation with us, and add #BPCREATES.

One response to “We All Love a Good Story

  1. I have to find that book, it looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

