Writing Me: I Remember {Sarah}

I remember seeing myself all knuckles and bones, ready to poke my own eyes out with shame.

I remember slouching into my clothes, ready to shrink away from prying junior-high condemnation.  I remember red cheeks and closed lips.  I remember disappearing.

I remember looking into the circle, wondering where my entrance would be, certain it lay somewhere just out of my skeletal reach.

I remember time passing.  I remember fullness layering.  I remember softening and easing and glowing.

I remember his eyes on mine, and the way they lingered.  I remember feeling tingles: red cheeks for another reason entirely.  I remember the confidence his arms held.

I remember being seen.

I remember being allowed to bloom.

I remember standing tall, in a circle of two.  I remember being half of something beautiful, and all of something loved.

4 responses to “Writing Me: I Remember {Sarah}

  1. Oh this was so lovely, Sarah! I just adore the line “I remember being allowed to bloom.” That’s what we all want, isn’t it?

  2. This was so very romantic and so very… very. I just loved it! And I barely have the words for your love poem.

  3. This exactly describes what I am going through in my life right now…

    “I remember his eyes on mine, and the way they lingered. I remember feeling tingles: red cheeks for another reason entirely. I remember the confidence his arms held.

    I remember being seen.

    I remember being allowed to bloom.”

    Exactly this.

  4. Pingback: We Remember… {Writing Me wrap up} | Bigger Picture Blogs

Leave a Reply

