Finding Your Creative Niche

I tried to sew once, and it was a disaster. Our Home Ec teacher assigned us the task sewing a pair of shorts. Should be easy right. Elastic waist band, no zippers, or buttons. Just two leg holes and bam you have shorts.

Well, not exactly, my shorts were more like a sarong. One leg was barely sewn and the other was wide at the top and was so narrow at the bottom my leg couldn’t even fit through the hole.

That was almost 30 years ago, and I’ve never sewn again. It was official, sewing was not nor will it ever be my creative niche.

As a person with a curious heart, I like to try new ways to express myself creatively.

I tried scrapbooking once. All my friends were making these cool books of their kids and I was all like “I can totally do that.” I went to the scrapbook store and bought a bunch of pages, a pretty book and some stickers and doodads, and then I sat there with my pictures overwhelmed and with no clue what to do. I ended up giving my scrapbooking paraphernalia to a more talented friend and shoving my prints in a random photo album.

Another creative niche shattered.

At this point in my self discovery I became frustrated. I just want to express myself.

But how?

Then the clouds parted, and computers were born. {yes I grew up without the internet}.

It took years, and some self-teaching but eventually my creative niche blossomed.

Graphic design is my calling. Especially since I can only draw 2D stick figures, hearts and rainbows.

However once I grab the mouse and stare at the glowing screen inspiration hits, and I can create. Grabbing various color swatches from my electronic palette I manipulate graphics. Turning them into my own masterpiece.

At the ripe age of 30 I found my niche.

Even though my niche falls into the typical definitions of creativity yours doesn’t have to. You can cook up a masterpiece in the kitchen, you can plant a visually appealing garden or you can DIY a bookcase.

As long as your creative heart is full your mission is accomplished.

Let your creativity fly, and see where you land.

Remember all it takes is five minutes.

You can …

Take a photo
Write a poem
Write a post
Write two sentences
Paint a picture

Are you ready for this week’s prompt?

Head on over to our Facebook page and check it out. Don’t forget to share your creation with us, and add #BPCREATES.

2 responses to “Finding Your Creative Niche

  1. I have tried a variety of creative outlets as well… and am settled knowing I can knit and write 🙂 It took long enough, but I’m here, ha! (and honestly, I have my mom’s old sewing machine, and if it weren’t for the fact that it was hers, I would have thrown it across the room several times during the “i can totally quilt” phase!!)

  2. Love this, Brook! It’s not just if you can draw or paint … creativity lends space for so much more!!

Leave a Reply

