Writing Me: I Remember {hyacynth}

Writing Me is Bigger Picture Blogs series of writing exercises created to help our community dive deeper into writing, grow creatively, and learn about ourselves and each other. This quarter we are writing from the prompt “I Remember…” and each week we will feature one of our community members.

This week’s post comes to us from Hyacynth.

~~~~~~

I remember him when my oldest cuts open his finger

while we’re driving down the interstate

and I pull out a bandage, wipe

from the emergency kit he put in my car

nine years ago when I drove to start my junior year of college.

I remember him when sunlight hits

my boys’ hair and the same coppery tones

highlight the dark locks they share.

I remember him when I catch a slight hint

of cigar smoke wafting through thick summer air during

nightly walks around our neighborhood with his grandkids.

And I remember him when I see the roof of the house

that was almost him peaking through the dancing leaves

of trees in our backyard.

I remember him when I least it expect it

when I’m in the middle of living life loudly

when his memory sneaks up on me

and startles me back to the realization

that all I really have left of my father

are genes expressed in little boys

an emergency kit lingering long after expiration date in my car

and memories

to which I cling tighter every time I realize he’s gone.

~~~~~~

Will you join us?

~Post an I Remember exercise anytime you like on your blog. Link up:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

~Want to be one of our guest writers? Complete this form and we will email you your feature date and submission details.

4 responses to “Writing Me: I Remember {hyacynth}

  1. Oh Hy… there is so much in this post. For some reason I especially like the part about how the emergency kit is still there, though expired…

  2. Hyacynth, This is so beautiful! I too love that you keep the expired emergency kit in your car. Your father was a very special person and I see alot of his caring personality through your writings.

  3. ((((hugs)))) so beautiful.

  4. Pingback: We Remember… {Writing Me wrap up} | Bigger Picture Blogs

Leave a Reply

