Writing Me: I Am {Lucy}

Welcome to Writing Me: Part III, a community writing project to celebrate creative inspiration collectively, and as individuals. For the next few weeks, we will be writing the I Am Poem. Be sure to link yours up! This week, we’re sharing a poem written by Lucy the Valiant.

 

I am a conduit of light- when I can remember to be.
I wonder at the dizzying miracle of loving and being loved.
I hear voices and voices vying for my attention.
I see endless people and things to be taken care of.
I want to do it all flawlessly, effortlessly, gracefully.
I am only just one girl, though, after all.

I pretend to be a grown-up, though my natural state is child-like.
I feel so much. I feel overwhelmed by all the feelings on a daily basis.
I touch so many lives constantly. Realizing the true weight of that makes it hard to keep moving forward.
I worry, oh I worry. Almost without ceasing. Almost as if I think it’s prayer.
I cry easily, on my husband’s strong shoulder. I’ve almost forgotten how much I used to hate crying, hated it because I was alone.
I am both weaker and stronger than I think. I am powerless and powerful, all at once.

I understand that I can’t do everything, but I don’t believe it.
I say I’m weary, but I never stop.
I dream of discovering I have latent magical powers that will let me save the world.
I try to save it anyway.
I hope to someday love and be loved naturally, unconsciously, like breathing.
I am more than just one girl, after all.

One response to “Writing Me: I Am {Lucy}

  1. I love you. That is all.

    Also, the line about worrying as if you think it’s prayer? I LOVE that line.

Leave a Reply

