BPReads: Wild Mind Chapter 11 & 12

BiggerPictureBlogsBookClub

We’re reading to become better writers, I hope you’ll join us on this journey! Details on the book club can be found under the Book Club Tab above. I will link each week’s discussion there as well.

Our first pick is Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg. If you want more information on Natalie and some video interviews with her please visit Open Road Media. Some of you asked, it is available in all versions of digital reader. See the Open Road Media site for details.

*sorry this didn’t go up last week, the internet at Relevant was soooooo sloooooow I couldn’t get it up!

Chapter 11: Reading

 

Reading to be a better writer, well we know a thing or two about that don’t we? What are your favorite or most inspiring bloggers when it comes to writing? What are your favorite books?

One of my favorite bloggers who inspires my writing is Stephanie from Adventures in Babywearing. She paints beautiful words and says so much in so few words.

I already mentioned that Memoirs of a Geisha was one of the most inspiring books I have read. While at Relevant I had a great conversation with Leslie (a roomie) from Show the Wonder about inspiration that related to the Twilight Series. I can’t tell it as animatedly (you should really vlog it Leslie!) as she did but here is the gist; Twilightt may not be great literature, or great writing, but what Stephanie Meyer does really well is pull people into the story. She grabs you and you can’t stop reading. That would be something else I want to do capture a reader so they can’t stop reading.

Chapter 12: Do It

This chapter grabbed e right away since my first aspirations were to be a doctor I was in school to be a doctor…I am not a doctor! I liked how she described it as elemental, something in your veins. I think that’s true but I also thing it might not be obvious. Like the debate of nature versus nurture, sometimes it’s something in your nature combined with how it’s nurtured that provides an outcome. (Am I making sense? I’m a bit sleep deprived!)

I enjoyed writing in grade school and wrote stories and plays all the time. As I progressed into the upper grades though I focused on what I was good at, science. The need and desire to write laid dormant inside me until I had children, until I had really deep emotions that could only be processed through writing the words out.

How about you? Is it in your veins? Has it always been?

There are 3 “Try this”  for this chapter, the one I am most intrigued with is the schedule. Do you have  writing schedule? Do you stick to it? I would love to make this a reality because I have so many ideas in my head and I just want to write!

3 responses to “BPReads: Wild Mind Chapter 11 & 12

  1. Wow this is so interesting! And chills – thank you for that wonderful mention.

    Steph

  2. I don’t have a writing schedule, but boy, I wish I did! I would love to sit and write…I have so many ideas, too, but not enough uninterrupted time to sit down and just write! (I also think I would have to disconnect my internet access…it’s too distracting!)

Leave a Reply

