Writing Me: Where I’m From {Liberty}

I am from where the creek runs through town, from Tang and fresh-caught dungeness crab.

I am from the blueberry inn, the rock wall with the rope swing, cedar lined closets, and the best seat in town on the 4th of July.

I am from the summer salmonberries and skunk cabbage, the limpets and goeducks.

I am from lazy Sundays and scenic drives, from perseverance’s stairs and the Causeway and polishing rocks.

I am from taking on too much, walking barefoot and microwave breadboxes.

From bears in the outhouse and shark-free seas.

I am from hell and damnation catholic school days, potluck Methodist nights and learning to dress for neither.

I’m from a small fishing village on a green isle, plank salmon and cheesy potatoes.

From the bikini briefs bear chasing, the devils club patch, and the day trips of Dad’s sailboat, from photographers and naturalists.

I am from old black trunks, slide reels, and sweet moss-covered boardwalks. I am grateful for this home harbor I call home.
Liberty MontanoKnitter. Soaper. Indie Dyer. Yogini. Photographer. Champion of Simple. Slayer of Good Grammer. Maestro of the ‘Mom’ voice.

Read more by Liberty at Digging on Purpose

 

Writing Me is a community writing project. We’d love to have you join us. Link your piece here!

4 responses to “Writing Me: Where I’m From {Liberty}

  1. Gorgeous. I love this exercise- so very much.

  2. So beautiful, Liberty! I’m glad to meet you. You are a beautiful, descriptive writer. {So where are these shark-free seas you speak of? Always wanted to swim in the ocean, but I am terrified of sharks, so I only go in knee deep when we visit the coast.}

  3. I just discovered this beautiful site and would love to be a part of it… where do you suggest I start? I’d love to link up one of my recent pieces from my own blog A Mother Seeking… I see this Link “Party” is the “Where I’m From” prompt… Are there additional prompts?
    Thanks,

    ~ Meredith From A Mother Seeking Come find me on my blog, A Mother Seeking…

Leave a Reply

