Bigger Picture Blogs Book Club

I strive to be a better writer. Since I was a science major I didn’t take a lot of writing or literature classes. I’m going to be working through this list of 75 books every writer should read and I want you to join me!

This won’t be a typical book club where we read the book and everyone posts about it. It’s a Bigger Picture Blogs book club, its goal is to foster community and creativity.

We want to read the book together. Experience it together and learn and grow from it together. Every week we will read through one chapter together. I will post some thoughts, some questions and a linky under the new Book Club tab (coming soon!). We want you to share with us what that chapter has inspired you to create. Whatever that is!

It may inspire you to bake a cake.

It may prompt you to paint a picture.

You may write a poem or a short story.

You may pour your inner thoughts in a post,

There is no right or wrong answer, there is no format, just inspiration and creativity.

Our First book will be Wild Mind, Living the Writers Life by Natalie Goldberg.

Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life

So this weekend head to your library, pick it up, and read the introduction and first chapter (it;s short! 8 pages!). I will post the first chapter info next Friday September 2.

If you use twitter we will be using the hashtag #bpreads (Bigger Picture Reads)

9 responses to “Bigger Picture Blogs Book Club

  1. I’m so totally looking forward to this. I was an English major in college and miss our in depth book discussions. I’m heading the bookstore right now. 🙂

  2. I’m totally in! To the extent these books are available for kindle, I’m totally joining in. What a fabulous idea!

  3. I’d love to join in! I should be able to handle 8 pages for the first week. 🙂

  4. I can SO do eight pages. 🙂

  5. Oh, the book list looks fabulous! Can’t wait!

  6. this looks to be fun, and encouraging and a great opportunity for growth….I think I’m in!!

  7. Pingback: What we’ve been up to… | Bigger Picture Blogs

  8. I’m so in.. been looking for a book club to follow!! yay! I’m going to the library right now.. stopping by from alita’s blog

Leave a Reply

