Bigger Picture Moment Feature: Mattress Antics

As a way of strengthening community and promoting building relationships, we’re highlighting one Bigger Picture Moment from every weekly link up. Each post is randomly chosen by random.org. Enjoy this week’s feature if you haven’t already read it.

From Jumping Tandem

When I went to Virginia last month, H used that time to take care of a few projects around the house. He installed two new “fixtures” in two of our bathrooms and got to work painting the steps that had previously worn an ugly and matted down carpet of sorts. Access to our bedroom was blocked while he worked on these projects, which meant that H slept in the guest room, and that led to the purchase of a new mattress. “Lumpy,” is what he called the old one. And with my parents coming to town next week…well…as H put it, “Nothing is too good for your parents.”

Except that, for us, delivery charges were definitely out of the question. We’re frugal (cheap?) like that.

So yesterday, when H picked me up from work, there was that new mattress, strapped to the top of our teeny tiny Toyota, along with three teen-aged boys scrunched shoulder to shoulder together in the back seat. The back of that poor little Toyota just barely cleared the ground. If you’re picturing the miniscule little circus car full of clowns, you’re on the right track.

I squeezed myself into the front seat, hoping that no one saw me. Seriously. I’ve got a reputation to uphold, folks! But of course, on this particular day, everyone and their mother decided to leave the office just as I closed the passenger door and we rode off into the sunset (it was lunch time, so there wasn’t actually a sunset, but you get the idea, right?).

Have I told you about the wind here in Nebraska? Have I shared with you that on the nicest days our little Toyota gets tossed around on the four-lane highway that leads me to work each day? Have I told you that I grip the steering wheel just about every day that I head down that road for fear that one well-placed gust of wind will sweep me into the cornfields? Just try to imagine what that wind was doing to the brand new mattress that was strapped to the top of our car. I was terrified. And I hung on to that mattress for dear life.

I leaned my torso out of the window and gripped on to the side of that mattress as it flipped and flopped and strained against its orange tie-down straps. My hair whipped around on the top of my head and…yes…I screamed all the way down that highway. H tried to reassure me that the mattress wasn’t budging (and in retrospect I can tell you he was correct). He cranked up Led Zeppelin on the stereo and the three teens in the back seat shouted, “Let’s roll!” (OK. Surely you’re wondering about the people in the back seat. Let me stop here to tell you that these three guys are from Burma and each day H takes them to and from summer school where they are learning to speak English. “Let’s roll!” is – apparently – one of the newest phrases that they’ve learned.)

Anyway…we were quite a sight. A spectacle, really. My hand still aches from holding on to that mattress. H said to me, “Wow, honey! I’m so glad you were here. I’m sure that we would have lost that mattress if you hadn’t held on like that!” He was joking, of course.

We dropped the guys off at their homes and the one who hardly ever says anything at all for fear he’ll get it all wrong said, “Thank you. Thank you! I will see you on Sunday.” He looked at me and then at the mattress and – grinning from ear to ear – he gave us both a thumbs up.

And that, my friends, made it all worthwhile.

Next week, Melissa will be hosting Bigger Picture Moments. Keep an open mind and heart throughout the week and come back to participate again or for the first time! All are welcome!

Leave a Reply

